The Tilsonburg Pottery Works 

1882 – 1886

Introduction

During the 1880's the Tilsonburg Pottery Works was the only successful commercial pottery in Oxford County.  Operating from January 1882 until its closure in August 1886, the works was located in the parking lot kitty-corner to the present day Customer Service Center.  During its brief four year operation, the pottery would see several different proprietors and operate under several different names. The pottery was constructed beside and operated in conjunction with the Tilsonburg Brickyard, sharing the kilns, power supply, a few of the workforce and some of the machinery. The only known photograph of the brickyard and pottery works was taken in August 1886 after a major fire that would contribute to its closure.  Today, Tilsonburg Pottery ware is one of the most sought after by collectors, due to its short but fascinating history – a history we wish to share with you through this exhibit.

Timeline

Click on the button to visit the linked page

1869

January

1882

April

1882

August

1882

June

1884

March

1886

August 6,

1886

November

1886